Los Angeles (California)

There are quite a few famous attractions here that you have to see. Unfortunately I didn’t have the opportunity to see the Hollywood sign as I had planned but I did get to revisit a couple places which I saw 12 years ago and got to go to places for the first time.

So I stayed in LA in a small city called Westminster, which is widely known to be a Vietnamese community. Apart from Vietnam itself, Westminster is the largest Vietnamese community worldwide which is quite incredible. I stayed here for a week, then left to San Fran, New York and then came back here before heading back home, so I was basically in LA for 2 weeks.

Despite staying for 2 weeks with relatives, I didn’t quite have the chance to wander off on my own or with my sister. It’s quite hard to go anywhere without a car but I guess I did have a good time visiting family and visiting some of LA’s famous attractions despite the limited travelling.

So I did quite a bit of shopping at South Coast Plaza, which has stores like Bloomingdale, Macy’s, Coach, Disney, Lacoste, Guess, Nordstrom, Forever 21, H&M and heaps, heaps more. It’s massive!

Christmas Tree at South Coast Plaza

Christmas Tree at South Coast Plaza

south coast 01
On a cold day, we drove an hour and a half to see snow at Mountain High. Here you can only really participate in activities if you had an annual membership so we really just hung around.

little Red Riding Hood at Mountain High

little Red Riding Hood at Mountain High

Mountain High

Mountain High

I got to visit a beautiful Church in LA; Christ Cathedral, which contained structural buildings made from glass.

beautiful glass constuctions at Christ Cathedral

beautiful glass constuctions at Christ Cathedral

IMG_6990

Christmas Tree at Christ Cathedral

Christmas Tree at Christ Cathedral

I was lucky enough to then receive free passes to Universal Studios for my birthday from my family. It wasn’t just a 1 days pass, it was an annual pass.

Universal Studio ticket prices

Universal Studio ticket prices

Universal Studios LA

Universal Studios LA

universal studios 09

Directory of all the rides. See the time next to the ride? That’s the waiting time !

universal studios 07

an attraction which creates a short movie set in Waterworld.

universal studios 04 universal studios 08

The Grinch at Universal Studios

The Grinch at Universal Studios

Krustyland at Universal Studios

Krustyland at Universal Studios

universal studios 14

going onto the NBC Studio Tour

universal studios 12

universal studios 15

incredibly steep !

universal studios 17

So we decided to head to Hollywood at night after everyone came home from work.

Hollywood Walk of Fame

Hollywood Walk of Fame

IMG_0353

Dolby Theatre

Dolby Theatre

IMG_0357 IMG_0435 IMG_0456Los Angeles was incredibly beautiful. I absolutely love the weather here. To be honest, LA probably had the best weather. Despite during Winter, the weather was incredibly cool, not too cold and not too hot- just fine. At least you could still see the sun 🙂

Leave a Reply

