Momofuku Noodle Bar (New York) {food}

I’ve never tried Momofuku in Sydney. So I guess saving it for the New York restaurant was well worth it. On my first day of a new age, my sister & I took the subway down to Washington Square Park (East Village of Manhattan, approx. 20 min subway ride from Madison Square Garden) to take photos & relax at the park, and them walked to this very restaurant. Momofuku Noodle Bar is located just on 11th Street of 1st Avenue.

The store width is quite small but as you head in, you then realise the restaurant is indeed long. Being a noodle bar, you’re seated just like at a bar.

momofuku IMG_9184

sitting near the front of the restaurant and looking in to where the kitchen is on the left, and the dining tables to the right

momofuku IMG_9191

While we were on our way to the restaurant, I couldn’t help but notice how awfully early I was to a restaurant which opened at 12pm. We arrived at 12.15pm and to my surprise, there was a short line, and the restaurant was full. This made me realise how busy the name ‘Momofuku‘ was.

This lunch menu made it quick for us to order, with only a few simple lunch dishes.

momofuku IMG_9190

We started off with the pork buns. The order gives you 2 pork buns to share. Inside the bun is 2 pork pieces. I’ve only ever tried pork buns at 2 different restaurants, one in Melbourne at a small Chinese restaurant and the other several times, at Ippudo (Westfield Pitt St). And I have to admit Ipoudo was delicious. The sauce in these pork buns at Momofuku is indeed tasty and very unique. What’s also great about these pork buns is that there are 2 pork pieces in it rather than the usual 1 at other places.

momofuku IMG_9195

Pork Buns
hoisin, scallion & cucumber
$10

The Spicy Miso Ramen was very salty, I guess the name ‘Ramen’ says so for itself. I’m not a huge fan of Miso Soup so this wasn’t exactly my favourite dish. The spiciness was great though.

momofuku IMG_9205

‘Spicy Miso Ramen’
smoked chicken, Swiss chard, sesame
$15

The below dish, Momofuku Ramen was great. The pork shoulder was shredded into small pieces but was finely done. The soup was much better than the previous dish as it was just right, not too salty and not too plain. Based on the 2 dishes we had, it is right to judge that the food here is really filling. We weren’t hungry again till after 7pm but I guess that’s just because we don’t usually eat too much so Momofuku dishes were extremely filling!

momofuku IMG_9213

‘Momofuku Ramen’
pork belly, pork shoulder, poached egg
$16

If you haven’t been to Momofuku in Sydney, try Momofuku in New York if you have the chance. A very worthwhile experience. However to be honest, I’ve tried food at restaurants which I have enjoyed more than here. But an experience is an experience, especially if it’s in New York !

Momofuku Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Momofuku Noodle Bar (New York) {food}

  1. Hi,

    My names Mallory I am a manager over at Ken & Cook restaurant. I’ve been reading your blogs and think you have good opinions as well as a good following. I Wanted to let you know that were doing a Food Blogger Promotion! If you would like to come in sometime alone we will totally comp your meal In return for a review by you, if you come with a friend 50% discount, with 3 or more 25% off.

    If your in Nyc, we would love to have you in and hear your opinion
    Please feel free to reach out to me by email

    Thank you!
    Mallory

Leave a Reply

